2017 AIDS Walk 2018-11-30T18:59:21+00:00


Sunday, June 4 marked the 32nd AIDS Walk & Run Boston at the DCR Hatch Memorial Shell on the Esplanade. Thousands of people in Greater Boston and beyond signed up to raise money for the programs and services of AIDS Action, as well as start conversations with friends and family about HIV prevention, care, and advocacy. The grassroots effort of these supporters is critical to AIDS Action’s goals each year, allowing us to continue serving those who come through our doors.

Last year’s AIDS Walk & Run Boston raised nearly $800,000 with the help from leading fundraising teams like The Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT, and Harvard and Brown Middle School, who displayed exemplary dedication in 2017 raising over $91,000, and $26,000 respectively. Other notable teams include Team Mac ($10,000), Board of Directors ($13,000), Fenway Health ($16,000), AIDS Action Committee ($20,000) and Vertex ($10,000). The top five individual fundraisers in 2017 were Bruce Walker, Bette Byrnes, Inez Folsom, Jim Haber and Jonathan Urbach.

raised by teams

Corporate sponsorship makes up a large part of the event’s fundraising goals, accounting for 19% of the funds raised. Whole Foods Market once again hosted our Wellness Festival to promote healthy living to our participants. Additionally, our friends at Macy’s continued their matching donation program for self-pledges up to $20,000 made by AIDS Walk participants. In 2017, we welcomed new sponsors Converse, Native Waters, New England Carpenters Union, CamCare and Facebook.


of funds raised are from corporate sponsorships

Dr. Bruce Walker of The Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT, and Harvard received the Heroes in Action Award, which honors those who have made significant and lasting contributions to the fight against HIV/AIDS in Massachusetts, for his groundbreaking research into a cure for AIDS, his HIV work in South Africa, and his tireless support of AIDS Action Committee.

The Healthy Youth Coalition, under the leadership of Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, received the Bette Byrnes Award, which recognizes an individual or team that has promoted HIV education and awareness among youth. The coalition was recognized for working to pass legislation to ensure that Massachusetts schools that elect to teach sexual health education use a curriculum that’s medically accurate, age-appropriate, and teaches students about the benefits of abstinence and delaying sex; building healthy relationships; consent; gender identity and sexual orientation; effective contraceptive use; and the prevention of pregnancy and sexually-transmitted infections.

Additionally, AIDS Action Committee honored state Sen. Jason Lewis with the 2017 HIV/AIDS Legislative Leadership Award for filing an amendment to remove the cap limiting the number of needle exchange programs allowed in the state to six. Since the legislation passed last year, needle exchange programs—which help prevent the spread of HIV and Hepatitis C—around the state have quadrupled.

Boston Mayor Martin J. Walsh announced Boston’s commitment to join the Fast-Track Cities Initiative, a global campaign to end HIV transmission. Fast-Track Cities commit to taking the necessary public health, social justice, and access to healthcare initiatives to ensure that by 2020, 90 percent of city residents living with HIV are aware of their status; 90 percent of those diagnosed with HIV are treated with antiretroviral therapy; and 90 percent of those diagnosed with HIV are treated with antiretroviral therapy; and 90 percent of those receiving antiretroviral treatment are virally suppressed. In joining the initiative, Boston becomes the 12th U.S. city to join the global campaign to end the transmission of HIV.


Presenting Sponsor
The TJX Companies, Inc.

Principal Sponsor

Presenting Wellness Festival Sponsor
Whole Foods Market

Major Sponsor
American Heart Association/American Stroke Association

Sustaining Sponsors
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Eastern Bank
Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Supporting Sponsors
EMD Serono. Inc.
Partners HealthCare
Patriot Care

Wellness Associates
Abt Associates
Merck and Co, Inc.
Neighborhood Health Plan
New England Carpenters Union*
Pfizer, Inc.
Planned Parenthood

Community Business Sponsors
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
ViiV Healthcare

Media Sponsors
WCVB TV Channel 5

Official Water Sponsor
Native Waters*

Official Airline Sponsor

Official Sneaker Sponsor

Heroes Hall and VIP Breakfast Sponsor
Breugger’s Bagels*

Official Volunteer Lunch Sponsor

* In-Kind Donation



AIDS Action Committee
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Board of Directors
Brown Middle School
Fenway Health
Grand Circle Travel
John’s Team
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT, and Harvard
Team MAC

Boomerangs and friends
First Parish Arlington Social Justice
Harvard – CBAR
MGH Cox 5 & Friends Team
St. Paul AME Church, Cambridge, MA
Team Maloney Properties
Team Quest
We’ll walk on for John

Bayard Rustin
Blue Man Group Boston
Broadway In Boston
Daffodil Two
Divas & Devils
Jamie’s Parker House Rolls
JetBlue Crew
Jimmy’s Team
Kevin’s Crew
Lost Socks
Marsh & McLennan Companies
Monster Worldwide
Old South Church in Boston
Out Pfizer Employee Network
Raytheon GLBTA-NE
Schreiberian Running Club
Sharon the Red Baron
Team Ablavsky
Team EY
Team Peaches
Team Sephora
Team Williams

2017 Cowbell Club Members

Bill Adams
Jessica Benjamin
Amy Boger
Joshua Boger
Letitia Cheatham
Linda Cotter-Cranston
Merrill Davidson
Jamie Davis
Kathleen Donnelly

Michael Fitta
Inez Folsom
Brian Giblin
Nancy Goldberg
Jim Haber
Julie Kaufmann
Kevin Matthews
Matthew Morin
Kenneth Orth

Kevin Powers
Judy Rice
Louise Rice
Kelly Rush
Ann Schlesinger
Warren Schur
Rita Tries
Jonathan Urbach
Bruce Walker
Patricia Ward

2017 Extra Mile Club Members

Leonid  Ablavsky
Sierra Adami-Koll
Gary Bailey
Lauren Baino
Michael Baldwin von Brunow
Jules Becker
Jim Bennington
Jean-Marie Bonofilio
Stephen Boswell
Christine Bricault
Julienne Carty
Ronald Christopher
Linda Cohen
Kristen Cole-Esson
Timothy Conant
Brian Corte
Kimberly Cummings
Timothy Cusack
Tammi Dale
Kathy Davey-Siegel
Frances Davis
Brian Derrick
Alex DimarioAmby Drake
Tess Ewing
Mark Fallon
Tim Feeley
David Fontaine
Robert Frye
Lauren Gabovitch
Rajesh Gandhi
Kathy Gonzalez
Greg Goshgarian
Gordon Gottlieb
Susan Grabowsky
Martha Hayward
Ava Henderson

Meghan Hodgdon
Meghan Hulbert
Maddy Jennewein
Robb Johnson
Steven Jones
Cameron Judkins
Marvin Kabakoff
Kristiana Kelley
Thomas Kelly
Michael Kilcoyne
Peter Konrad
Stephen Kuehler
Paula Lanell
Peter Lanell
Kristen Lascoe
Peter Logan
Jessica Lomeli
Jennifer Lyons
Eileen MacDougall
Christopher Mahan
Daniel Maloney
Zach Mandel
Jagadish Manvi
Melissa Martland-Kile
Jane Matlaw
Helene Mayer
Jonathan McIntyre
Raul Medina
Dawn Meechin
Azzam Mehssen
Elizabeth Messina
Chad Michael
Grace Mirabile
Andrew Musgrave
Vivek Naranbhai

Peg Nelson
Patricia Nichols-Cordero
Ryan Nistler
Christin Norris
Ann O’Callaghan
Keith Orr
Liz Page
Janet Perno
Steven Poreca
Michelle Rediker
Felix Rogovin
Elana Rome
Damian Ryan
Stuart Schreiber
Carl Sciortino
Lana Scott
Dawnmarie Simpson
William Smaha
Douglas Spencer
Sophie Strausberg
George Summers
Christian Taboas
Anna Tary
Darius Teich
Alexis Templin
Leigh Topham
Rosemary Topham
Gregory Twombly
Rodney VanDerwarker
Kevin West
Janice Wexler
Daniel Williams
Scott Woolweaver
David Zeni